As You May Or May Not Know

From the kids of 1999

Posted on: June 28, 2010

Last night (this was written on May 24, 2010) I shared a few beers with former gradeschool schoolmates. (Beers are not frequent for me.) There were three of us, actually; we listened to DVDs of La Renga and Led Zeppelin, caught up to recent events like which of the girls had become a mother, discussed ancient events like where was it that the Kid Olympics were held on the 1990s. But on my mind lingers the presence of a book that I had not seen in a long time and had forgotten. It’s called “Ellos también cuentan” (‘They Also Tell/Count’) and most of my schoolmates have one of them, but I don’t. (Kinda like when just a couple guys on the classroom don’t order the class uniform when they go on the final course trip.) It’s an anthology of short stories, poems, books, jokes and sometimes simply phrases submitted by 6-14 year old students from three different La Plata schools, including mine. (Are there more volumes from the same year, featuring more schools from the city?) I wish I had submitted something; I guess I skipped school that day? (More probably I begun a short story and just didn’t finish it.)

So, I brought a list of the then-young authors whose works interested me. I’m eager to type their names up in Facebook and see what shows up. Meanwhile I’ll put up my impressions here. I was 12 at the time of this book, so that means it’s been a bit over ten years since the time of publishing. I wonder if some of them have become writers by now?

Martín Montero – A story where Gimnasia y Esgrima de La Plata wins the national cup on its 124º birthday. (Was that the future, back then? Is it still the future?)

Marcos Ceci & Emanuel Ríos Pacheco –The protagonist is a stamp collector that in the end gets stabbed by an American stamp with the effigy of John F. Kennedy. Awesome.

Carolina Sparrano –A really cute anecdote about a rich girl who feels jealous of her puppy because on the street everyone keeps complimenting the dog only. They make up at the end.

Adriana Becerra – If I remember correctly, this was about a rich couple that adopted a kid who was very poor. The rich lady isn’t thrilled with the idea at first, but eventually she gets attached to him.

Jonathan Emanuel Bustos – This one made me so curious: what was Jonathan’s thought process when writing it? Juan the Piggy moves in with Joaquina the Cow. Some time afterwards, she finds him packing up his things in a suitcase. (Now, most of the kids write from a distant point of view, like “Then one day, Juan left.” But Jonathan indeed wrote “Joaquina found Juan folding his clothes into a suitcase”, in pretty much those words.) The piggy explains: “I’m leaving for my real home.”

Melina Gisch – I liked a phrase at the beginning of her short story. She talks about a boy that “was afraid of and was the owner of a rabbit”. A boy afraid of his own mascot? I pictured him riding a rabbit-dragon.

Julia Mallbrán (I must admit, I’m getting tired of typing up these names) – Her story, with a speculative fiction tone, had the following groundbreaking premise: imagine there’s such thing as a female-only soccer team.

Manuel Adolfo Egido – A 1960 Sherlock Holmes adventure that quickly turned into Poe’s “Porloined Letter”.

Gonzalo G. Riera –Little Red Riding Hood returns to her mother’s, only to be devoured by the Wolf. The mother stabs the Wolf to death: but it is too late.

Laura Victoria Martín –This one was really great. “The Madman from the Black Highway”. A group of girls decides to use one of them as bait for a serial killer (a serial killer who, Laura insists to make clear, does not eat his victims, he buries them alive instead – though sometimes he also sets them on fire). Sadly, the killer does not fall for the ruse, and murders them all. Wow. It reminded me of Tarantino’s Death Proof.

Valeria Silvina Alustiza – This one was about a murderer that murdered a kid.

Florencia Ricco – Awesome: A vegetarian vampire eats too much carrot and becomes a rabbit. In the end someone offers him some more carrot, and he runs away yelling ‘NOOOOOO’.

Déborah Vanesa Bacigaluppe – I didn’t take note of the plot of this one, but I wrote down the name of the main character to google whether he’s a character from an existing book: (detective?) Wolh Welton.

Verónica Bianchi, Mayra Monzón, Inés Jackznik – A science fiction short story that takes place in 2099, where the appearance of a new planet in the Sun’s orbit puts the Earth in danger. A group of astronauts on a spaceship must save the planet.

I’ll just leave these names here for a while, in case any of them googles themselves. Cheers.

3 Responses to "From the kids of 1999"

I haven’t seen that book in ages! You brought back some very pleasent memories, neither Marcos nor I thought that story will made it into the book, back then we where very influenced by Edgar Allan Poe’s stories and we just decided to at least attempt to write a short story of the detective-mystery genre, but it wasn’t quite as good as we thought it would be, so we disregard any chance to be published, but it seems after all that “The killer stamp” was worth reading. Marcos is now an accountant, and I’m still studying programming and design. Still love to read a good book, classics most of all, “Steppen wolf” by Hermman Hesse is one of my favorites, I still need to pick back up “Thus Spoke Zaratustra” by Nietzsche. You have a veery nostalgic and heart-touching writing style, I have no doubt that I will soon be reading some published work written by you. Until then, regards, and thanks again for the memories and above all for liking the story!

😀 thanks a lot emmanuel! you certainly made my day. by the way, have you checked my blog in spanish?

asociacioneslicitas.wordpress.com

porque supongo que los dos somos de la plata ja ^_^

4 años después. Si jajaja soy de la plata, ya estoy entrando en tu blog. Saludos!

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Emmanuel Rios Pacheco: 4 años después. Si jajaja soy de la plata, ya estoy entrando en tu blog. Saludos!
  • santiveron: :D thanks a lot emmanuel! you certainly made my day. by the way, have you checked my blog in spanish? asociacioneslicitas.wordpress.com porque supon
  • Emmanuel Rios Pacheco: I haven't seen that book in ages! You brought back some very pleasent memories, neither Marcos nor I thought that story will made it into the book, ba

Categories