As You May Or May Not Know

House of Victoria Ocampo, October ’09 (I)

Posted on: June 1, 2010

THREE O’CLOCK IN THE MORNING AND I’M SHELTERING FROM THE RAIN BESIDES A KIOSK, I write on my notebook, IN BÉCCAR. IN BÉCCAR, I repeat: “LA PLATA” IS WHERE I LIVE. THIS IS MY FIRST TIME IN BECCAR.

TODAY’S LESSON: BEFORE SITTING TO WAIT FOR THE BUS, MAKE SURE YOU’RE ON THE PROPER SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT WOULD BE A SHAME TO WATCH THE LAST BUS OF THE NIGHT PASS YOU BY IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION. I have “always check that it’s the right side of the road” written, and circled, at the top of the notebook’s page. IF MY NIGHT WERE A “CHOOSE YOUR OWN ADVENTURE” BOOK, I continue, as I look at the passing cars in awe thinking about how much the street looks like Diagonal 74, ITS TITLE WOULD BE ALONG THE LINES OF INSIDE THE MANSION OF VICTORIA OCAMPO. THE BACK COVER TEXT, BELOW THE CLASSIC ILLUSTRATION (LET’S SAY A MAN WITH A BOWTIE AND A WOMAN WITH A STRANGE HAT, BOTH READING ALOUD THE SAME SHORT STORY) WOULD READ: “NEVER BEFORE HAVE YOU FOUND DAUNTING THE DISTANCE BETWEEN YOUR HOUSE AND A CLASS ABOUT FILM, COMICS OR LITERATURE.” Now I don’t add it to the list because I like how the sentence is playing out on the notebook, but ‘videogames’ is definitely also an item. “WHEN YOU FOUND OUT YOU HAD A 2-HOUR TRIP TO SAN ISIDRO FROM YOUR COMICS CLASS AT MORÓN, WHICH ALREADY IS 3 HOURS AWAY FROM YOUR HOME, YOU WERE UP TO THE CHALLENGE. BUT NOW YOU’RE STANDING IN THE MAIN HALL OF THE VICTORIA OCAMPO MANSION-MUSEUM, AND AS YOU LOOK AROUND AND SEE THE PIANO, THE EXPENSIVE CLOTHING, THE MARTINIS, YOU CAN’T BUT REALIZE THAT YOU’RE THE ONLY PERSON AGED BELOW 25, THE ONLY ONE CARRYING A BACKPACK WITH NOTEBOOKS. HOW WELL WILL YOU MIX WITH THE SCENE?”

I could also add: The only one who had to travel the whole night to get back home, the only one who arrived at the party carrying no invitation.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Emmanuel Rios Pacheco: 4 años después. Si jajaja soy de la plata, ya estoy entrando en tu blog. Saludos!
  • santiveron: :D thanks a lot emmanuel! you certainly made my day. by the way, have you checked my blog in spanish? asociacioneslicitas.wordpress.com porque supon
  • Emmanuel Rios Pacheco: I haven't seen that book in ages! You brought back some very pleasent memories, neither Marcos nor I thought that story will made it into the book, ba

Categories